Shelter Welcomes Four New Trustees

The Shelter for Abused Women & Children recently welcomed Jane Borchers, Maegan Evans-Dustin, Diane McCaw, and Judi Embrescia to its Board of Trustees.

Jane is a retired art teacher, who holds a master of fine arts in visual studies from The Minneapolis Collage of Art and Design. She is a calligrapher and has led calligraphic study tours in Europe. She is a previous board member of Friends of Art at the Philharmonic, The United Arts Council of Naples and The League Club. Her community involvement includes Greater Naples Leadership, The League Club, Royal Poinciana Golf Club, Naples Garden Club, Daughters of the American Revolution, Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority and Stephen’s Ministry.

Maegan serves as a managing director at Falls River Group LLC (FRG) in Naples, where she has been involved with over 150 domestic and international merger and acquisition transactions. She founded the Women’s Economic Round Table in Washington, DC and was awarded a fellowship with the U.S. Attorney General’s office for the Improvements in the Administration of Justice. She also taught adult education courses while completing her doctorate at the University of Maryland in Behavioral Sciences.

Originally from Canada, Diane is a retired nurse. Through her work with The Shelter, she hopes to raise awareness among the medical community regarding the signs of domestic violence. She is a member of The Shelter Guild and has served on several committees, including the Mending Broken Hearts and the Old Bags luncheons. She volunteers with the Naples Community Hospital Foundation and served on the 2015 Magnolia Ball committee. She has also been involved with fundraising for hospitals in Toronto and New York.

Judi is an interior designer, who enjoys working on historic homes. She moved to Naples from Palm Beach, FL, where she was active with several organizations, including the Center for Family Services, which provides programs to children suffering from domestic violence, sexual abuse or homelessness. She is a board member and fundraising chair for College Now, which provides scholarships to students in northeastern Ohio.

“We are very excited to have these women on board,” says Cyndi Fields, Director of Development, “Each one brings an impressive variety of skills and experiences from across the country.”

The four join fellow trustees Christine Flynn, Colleen M. Murphy, Erika Aron, Warner Blow, Bob Cahners, Ron Ciesla, Carol Dinardo, Kathy Feinstein, Kirsten Ferrara, Grace Frey, Dr. Barbara Jordan, Lacey King, Suzie Lount, Joan Martin, Annette Pakula, Candace Raveis, JoAnn Remington, Al Rupp, Gwyn Sanford, Glen Schwesinger, William S. Villafranco, Donna Waltrip, Gail S. T. Webster, Patricia Wheeler, and Nancy White.